History of the Anoka County Sheriff's Office

On June 30, 1857, J.C. Frost was appointed as the first Anoka County Sheriff by the County Board of Commissioners.  He served one year.  He was defeated in 1858 by Thomas Henderson.  Thus began a succession of Sheriffs over the next 150 years.  They are as follows:

1857-1858        J.C. Frost - appointed
1858-1862        Thomas Henderson
1862-1864        W.G. Randolph
1864-1868        Thomas Henderson
1868-1872        James Frost
1872-1874        M.V. Bean
1874-1884        James Frost
1884-1892        Chares W. Lenfist
1892-1898        John Tierney
1898-1900        George W. Merill
1900-1902        John Tierney
1902-1909        John Palmer
1909-1914        John Casey
1914-1930        US. "Red" Pratt
1930-1946        O.M. "Oscar" Olson
1946-1960        L.A. "Mike" Auspos
1960-1987        Ralph "Buster" Talbot
1987-1995        Ken Wilkinson
1995-2002        Larry Podany
2002-2011        Bruce Andersohn
2011-present    James Stuart

Since 1857, Anoka County has grown considerably with over 330,000 residents today.  The once rural county is part of the seven-county Metropolitan area and is comprised of 21 cities and townships, covering 440 square miles.