The State of Minnesota is getting a system upgrade for Motor Vehicle and Driver's License transactions. The upgrade is taking place 11/12-11/15. During this time, we will be unable to process any transactions. We will reopen Monday 11/16/2020.
Anoka County License Centers:
Do not offer the "written" (knowledge) test required to apply for a Minnesota License when coming from a different state
Do not offer the "behind-the-wheel" (road) test to get a driver’s license
After you have completed the knowledge and/or road tests, you can apply for a Driver’s License at any of our five Anoka County locations.
You will be required to complete an application. Applications are only available at the license centers for first time applicants.
What do I need to Bring?
Proof that you have completed and passed the knowledge and/or road test.
Two forms of proper identification. Please use this Identification Requirements chart to determine what two forms of identification you will need to provide.
Corrective lenses (if needed).
Parent or legal guardian (if you are under age 18). If a Parent/Guardian is not available at time of application, you can pick up an application and take it with you to obtain their notarized signature and return to complete your transaction.
Driver’s License Manuals
Driver’s License manuals are available for purchase at any license center. This manual will aid in studying for the knowledge test as well has help you brush up on changes to Minnesota driving laws.
Driver’s Manual: $5
Motorcycle Manual: $5
Commercial Driver’s Manual: $10
The required fee for a Driver’s License is dependent on type and endorsements. Please use this Fee Chart to determine what you will owe.