Public Health Services

What do we do?
The programs and services of the Community Health and Environmental Services Department protect the health and safety of community residents, promote healthy lifestyles and prevent diseases and disabilities which could adversely affect the current    and future health of our community.

The Department provides health and protection to the residents of Anoka County through education, prevention, service, regulation and advocacy.
tobacco stat
It's hard to quit smoking. But taking the first step is easy. 

Now Everyone in Minnesota can take advantage of a stop-smoking program that offers personal support.  
There is no cost to you! 
You do not need to be covered by a health plan and research shows that when a person has support, they are more successful.

Minnesota Tobacco Phone Counseling Programs
 For these Health Plans - call these numbers 

  • Blue Cross Blue Shield       1-888-662-BLUE
  • Health Partners                 1-800-311-1052
  • Medica                         1-866-905-7430
  • UCare                               1-888-642-5566
 Without a Health Plan - call this number 
  • QUITPLAN                        1-888-354-PLAN (7526)                         
the flu
healthy snacking for smoking cessation
in the news